The Mayor’s Pride Awards are held to celebrate extraordinary people and outstanding organisations that make a positive contribution to the local community.

Ensure these inspiring individuals and worthy organisations get the recognition they deserve by putting them forward to receive an award.

Mayor's Pride Awards 2019

MPA logo 2019 hi-res-1 with Sponsor

The Categories

The categories this year are as follows:

Community Champion of the Year

Community Champion of the Year

This award aims to reward people who have given up their spare time and gone out of their way to help others in the community.


Cultural Innovation Award

Creative people or groups whose ideas or achievements are an inspiration to others can be nominated for this award.


Young Person of Distinction

This award provides an opportunity to commend an exceptional child or young person for their talent, positivity, energy or strength of character.


Community Project of the Year

Recognition will be given to a project that has made a real difference to local people or has helped make the area more vibrant.


Community Oriented Business of the Year

This award is for businesses in St Albans District that are working with the public or voluntary sectors on initiatives to benefit the community.


Environmental Champion of the Year

A group or individual showing innovation or commitment to improving the local environment will be honoured with this award.


Voluntary Sector Award

Recognition will be given to a group or individual for making a real difference to the community through their work in the voluntary sector.


Inclusive Communities Award

This award will be given to a community initiative that unites people of different ethnic, faith or socio-economic backgrounds.

How to nominate?

Nominations have now closed for the Mayor's Pride Awards 2019. Find out more about how the award winners are chosen below.

How will it be judged?

Nominations will be reviewed by the judging panel from the local community. A shortlist of finalists will be unveiled by the Mayor in February 2019. All finalists will be invited to a celebratory evening with the Mayor in March 2019 when the awards will be presented to the winners.

Date of last review: 09 January 2019