Central government

Printer-friendly page

Her Majesty's Government consists of ministers responsible for the conduct of national affairs. The Queen alone appoints the Prime Minister and all other ministers are appointed by her on the Prime Minister's recommendation. Most ministers are members of the Commons, although the Government is also fully represented by ministers in the Lords.

St Albans and District, and Central Government

Two parliamentary constituencies fall within St Albans and District; St Albans, and Hitchin and Harpenden. The last General Election took place on 12 December 2019. The law states that a General Election must take place within 5 years of the last one, but it can be held earlier if Parliament decides.

The current Member of Parliament for St Albans is Daisy Cooper (Liberal Democrat) and for Hitchin and Harpenden is Bim Afolami (Conservative). (External Links open in a new window)

Parliament and Central Government

The Prime Minister presides over the Cabinet, is responsible for allocating functions among ministers and, at regular meetings with the Queen, informs her of the general business of the Government.

For more information on the Government, Government departments, and Members of Parliament visit the Gov.UK website

Also to find out more about the government, please visit the Parliament website  or to find out more information about what the government does, you can go straight to the Understanding Parliament

Date of last review: 23 December 2019