Skip to main content
Text size

Allergen Information

The Food Information Regulations, 2014 and The Food Information (Amendment) (England) Regulations 2019, introduces the legal requirement that food businesses must provide information about the 14 allergenic ingredients used in any food or drink they sell or provide.

The 14 major allergens

There are 14 major allergens which need to be mentioned (either on a label or through provided information such as menus) when they are used as ingredients in a food. The 14 allergens are listed below

1 -   Celery
2 -   Cereals containing gluten
3 -   Crustaceans
4 -   Eggs
5 -   Fish
6 -   Lupin
7 -   Milk
8 -   Molluscs
9 -   Mustard
10 - Nuts
11 - Peanuts
12 - Sesame seeds
13 - Soya
14 - Sulphur dioxide (sometimes known as sulphites)

Allergen Information

The links below provide guidance on allergen information, best practice for handling allergens and how to manage and develop allergen awareness, to enable food business compliance with legislation.

For further advice and information on how the new allergen legislation might affect your business or on food labelling in general, you can contact the Trading Standards Team duty officer on 01707 292429 or by email at